Fiberglass Rebuild

Situation: I recently came into possession of an old 6ft fiberglass sit inside that a bloke found floating (sort of) down a creek behind his house. He then had it sitting in a shed for a number of years. The kayak is in bad shape, cracks down the keel, the keel beam has also dis-bonded from the skin in places. There are a number of lengthy cracks along the seam between the deck and hull. The hull also has some large patches which look like previous repairs done poorly that have partially separated. See Photos.

Position I’m looking for repair advice on what I imagine is going to be a total rebuild. I’m an aircraft technician, although I haven’t been on tools for a while, and I have some basic experience in composite repair wet layups. I have a garage workspace to carry out the following.

Method (This where I want you to tell me if it’s the best approach) - I’m going to recipro saw the seam and split the hull and deck. With better access ill clean out the inside, sand the gelcoat off down to bare glass, and remove the old repair patches. I’ll grind the cracks out and patch the holes with wet layups, re bond the keel, then install a new internal and external seam. followed with a paintjob.

Am I too ambitious thinking I can do this in my shed over a winter?

6’ ? Send it to the dump and find one in a little better shape to work on.

5 Likes

Are you sure it is only 6’?

1 Like

Nice planter sorry to say.

1 Like

I suppose it depends upon what you hope to do with the kayak afterwards. Hard to tell from one photo, but from your description I suspect you can’t help but change the original layup which may affect the handling.

If indeed it is only 6’, then the cost will likely be more than a replacement, but if it’s a project you would enjoy, who cares?

You might seek some advice from Joey at Turning Point Boatworks (https://www.turningpointboatworks.com/) before you get too involved.