Fiberglassing an open framework?

Does anyone have experience with laying up a fiberglass hull and deck over an open framework?

I have an oportunity to acquire an old Folbot Sporty kit. I’m thinking of building it as a dedicated fishing yak but the kit is 20+ years old. The kit is complete, however the rubberized fabric has suffered some in storage and the manual only gives it a 30yr lifespan anyway.

I have some experience with fiberglass and epoxy but only laying it on solid surfaces. If glass cloth is stretched and pinned to a wood framework will it loosen and sag when wetted out? I have a suspicion that it will.

Any ideas on how to get a first layer of glass/epoxy on a wood frame without a messy and nerve wracking session of tugging and pinning wet cloth?

Appreciate any thoughts.

…Mike

Don’t do it.
You’re better off making a new skin.

Depends…

– Last Updated: Nov-05-05 6:48 AM EST –

Are you trying to use the fiberglass as the "skin?" Kinda defeats some of the attributes of a SOF -- light weight and a certain amount of forgiving flexing.

If you are using the frame as a "plug" for a composite boat, then you still need to stretch some sort of skin over the frame to provide a surface that the glass/epoxy will take the shape off. Otherwise, the glass will sag between the framework with the weight of the epoxy. Stretch the skin over the frame, then layer plastic wrap over the skin before the glass and epoxy job. When the glass/epoxy hardens, you can peel it right off the plastic.

If you want to just replace the skin, you should go over to Tom Yost's site. Tom is a bonafide expert in making folding skin on frame boats. He has plenty of information on various rubberized skin material. I forget what his site address is. You can find it my googling "Tom Yost, skin on frame kayaks."

sing

Dacron?

– Last Updated: Nov-05-05 8:21 AM EST –