Finding a fixer-upper

Hey everyone:

After a paddle on Monday, I was walking through the racks at the local kayak-storage place on the beach and looking at all the different boats (something I find really calming – I’m sure you all can relate). Anyway, I was struck again by the number of old sea kayaks that have been sitting out in the elements for 10 or a dozen years or more. That started me thinking – maybe I can pick up another boat on the cheap from someone who just doesn’t get out on the water much.

Since I don’t have any experience with fixing up a FG kayak, I thought I’d ask the board a couple of questions:

1. What’s that worst that can happen to FG from 10 years sitting outside? Is there a “point of no return” and how do you recognize it (besides hitting the hull with a hammer, which was suggested to me by an old time WW boater)?

2. Has anyone resurrected an old boat? How much work was it? I have no real experience, but plenty of optimism ;>)

Thanks very much in advance for any help.

Without Structural Damage …

– Last Updated: Feb-01-06 6:37 AM EST –

from miscellaneous run-ins here and there, I would think a glass boat sitting in sun will see deterioration of the gelcoat. The gelcoat protects the underlying glass laminate. You can alway bring an old glass boat back to life by sanding it down and redoing the coat. Sanding an old boat down would probably expose any structural issues like cracks and delaminations. Something you want to know about. Repair of these can be pretty straightforward though time consuming. Then you gelcoat again, sand and buff and she would look essentially like a new boat again. That's one of the the biggest advantage of composite boats over plastic.

Do not buy plastic kayaks sitting in the sun for 10 years. UV damage to the integrity of the plastic is beyond repair. It become more brittle. At some point, dropping or hitting something will result in a cracked hull.

sing

what sing said!

If it’s glass–it should be fine