finding a good camping spot on the river

I’m kinda new to Kayaking and would love to know how to go about weekend/extended kayak trips.

How do you find out where you are allowed to camp out at on a river/lake?

I prefer primitive camping and dont like designated camping spots/camp grounds.

any help is appreciated

wow.
depends on the spot. many areas are OK, many are private.

Commando camping is where you sneak it and (hopefully) don’t get caught.

steve

Where are you?
Out here in the Northwest, you can camp “undesignated” in many areas. National forest land and BLM land containing most of those locations.

You can get maps that show the location of BLM land from…the BLM office nearest you. Ditto for the National forests. Those maps usually show any restrictions, but the personnel at the respective offices can answer specific questions.

Idunno about the rest of the country.

The easiest way…
is to simply stop by a local canoe/kayak outfitter and pick their brains.

If none are around we usually just ask one of the locals who lives on or near the river or lake.

You would be surprised at some of the friendly and inviting answers you’ll get.

Yesterday we were checking out a white water river gorge that has been too low to paddle the past few years, and met a guy who was doing some tractor work in a field moving boulders. - It turned out that he was a avid WW canoer and all he wanted to do was talk about the river. before we finished the conversation, he told us to feel free to pull up onto his property any time we wanted to.

Cheers,

JackL

check land owner

– Last Updated: May-21-09 11:06 PM EST –