finish on pygmy kayak

I put three coats of system three varnish on the kayak and lightly sanded between coats,but when I got it out in the sun I could see brush marks.thought about sanding with 400 grit and using a buffing compound on it to get a real slick look and feel.whats the best way to go about this?

thanks Jeremy

I don’t worry to much
about getting a perfect finish. I usually can’t wait to go paddling. My kayaks aren’t perfect and thats okay for me but I sure do enjoy seeing others kayaks who have taken the time and work to make their kayaks look like furniture. Do what works for you.

Jeremy, I didn’t know you were
building a boat. That’s great! How are things over in 'Bama?

Check out…
I am new to boatbuilding, so I cannot help you.

Although you may get a specific response to your question on this site, I would HIGHLY recommend your posting the same question on www.kayakforum.com where you will get many responses from experienced builders.

Which Pygmy did you build and how do like it’s handling?

Enjoy…

Bob

Buff it…

– Last Updated: Jun-02-06 1:16 PM EST –

I‘m just finishing up my refinish job. Basically I did what you are thinking about. Sanded with 400 then POWER buffed with a medium compound and then again with a fine compound. If you do only a fine compound you would want to sand again with 800 then 1200 grit before buffing. I find that the two buffings are easier than all that sanding. If you are in the sun a lot you might think about a few more coats of vanish. I am in Florida with year-round sun so I do between 5 and 8 coats of varnish.
It comes out awesome.

Hey Jeremy, glad to hear you’re
building a Pygmy. You’ll have to bring it up when you’re finished so we can see it.