First adventure racing yak?

I saw the Perception Prodigy 12 at Cabelas last weekend and really like it. I’m a beginner adventure racer and want to get my first ever kayak.

Wish list of requirements:

40 pounds empty or less

sit in

can be equipped with rudder

will be used on lakes with speed boat wakes and slow moving rivers with possible light rapids

Can spend up to about $700.

Can you recommend a solo yak that would run fast and have enough room for my gear (backpack, small tent, sleeping bag, food, etc) also? I am a male, 5’2" and 130 lbs so need something that a guy my frame can manhandle onto my truck and lift onto a carrier…

Thanks in advance,

Barry in Austin

a used entry level glass K1
light, cheap, fast. a trainer will be stable enough if you put in the time.

nothing else that cheap is going to be light enough- all plastic stuff.

you can get a used ski for that price too, but more problematic with rivers since most will have an understern rudder. but some have kickups or can be modified to accept one.

andrew

go used

– Last Updated: Apr-15-08 12:41 PM EST –

If you're racing, the 28" beam of the Prodigy 12 will make it frustratingly slow, and it's way too wide for someone of your size to paddle efficiently. Given your budget and your cargo requirements, I'd look for a used plastic "small person" sea kayak -- something like a Perception Shadow would work, or a Tempest 165 if you could live with a skeg. The Pyranha Speeder might work if you'll be doing more river paddling.

You're going to have to compromise on your requirements. I don't know of any sub-40-pound, sub-$700 boats that can carry gear and race unless you're willing to build one yourself. You could build a custom skin-on frame that'd be light and fast, or build a stich & glue from plans.

There are ways for small folks to handle heavier boats.

Prijion Catalina