First Canoe Advice

Hello! This is my first time posting on this message board. I am looking to buy a canoe, My plan is to go on some small camping and fishing trips, on some local lakes/ponds/rivers. My cousin would also like me to go with him on a trip through Labyrinth canyon on the Green river in about a month and a half. I am about 6’4" and pushing 400 pounds (I’m working on it!) so I am much larger than your average person. I would prefer to go tandem with a friend or brother/sister in the front and me in the back, but I am concerned it would be very difficult to balance with a large weight discrepancy. I have some experience with a flat bottomed aluminum boat that we rowed, and I have been in a coleman scanoe with my cousin a couple times, but it was not very well balanced and I was in the front which made us very nose heavy. I’ve been looking at used canoes locally for a few weeks and have seen a large variety for sale, Old town saranacs, guides, discoverys, rogues, and stillwaters, Mad river explorers, various coleman canoes, grumman canoes, one bell canoe, and one wenonah. Anyone have a good recommendation? Would any of the ones I mentioned be a good fit for me? Thanks!

Preliminary Advice

– Last Updated: Jul-31-15 1:29 AM EST –

#1. Stay away from Rogue River, Coleman, Pelican, or any other cheap plastic boat.