First Canoe Buying Advice

Hello All,

I am looking to purchase my first canoe.
I have done a bunch of searching, but can’t quite seem to find the answer or the threads are old back when royalex was an option.
Here is what I am looking to do with the canoe.

1. Paddle solo, perhaps take some overnight trips.
  2. Paddle tandem with my wife.
  3. Paddle Solo with wife and 1 year old daughter in boat.
  4. paddle with just daughter and I as she gets a bit older.

Live in Michigan and looking to paddle rivers and lakes/ponds around the state. Possibly some mild whitewater when the little one gets older.

I have some paddling experience but not much and have never owned a boat.
Also interested in doing some poling.

As for budget I am thinking ~$1000-1500. I was looking at the old town discovery 158 or the novacraft prospector 15/16 @ right around $1000. Not sure if they are the right options .

Thanks for helping point me in the right direction, and let me know if I provide additional info that would be helpful.

Cheers!

Both are reasonable choices but will be heavy. Both are good tandems but may not be the best as solos especially if you are a smaller person. Classifieds has a Kevlar Explorer for same at an exceptional price in Ohio. If you are in Southern Michigan consider connection with the Lansing Oar And Paddle Club (LOAPC). http://loapc.org/ Good folks and we do quite a few Recreational trips.

May I suggest a used tandem canoe around 16 feet. Buy one made of fiberglass or kevlar and it will be lighter and travel better.

Avoid plastic boats, names you have never heard of, and short canoes.
There is no perfect canoe. You may sell yours and trade up or trade sideways. A used canoe is easy to get the money back.

I have paddled large tandem boats solo for years. It is not that hard.

I agree with ppine that a general purpose canoe around 16 feet should work well. A 15 would be OK if you and your wife are small to medium size.