First Canoe Help

Hello,
I am new to the forum and am mostly new to canoeing but I have some experience with small rowboats, rafts, kayaks, etc. I am looking into getting a used canoe which I want to use solo for fishing, possibly some small-scale waterfowl hunting, and back country paddling and camping. I plan on sticking to lakes and ponds as well as small, sluggish rivers. I currently have my eyes on a 1974 Old Town Carleton Voyageur which appears to be in excellent condition for $200. The boat is fiberglass, 17ft. long and weighs 85 lbs. I think it’s a great looking canoe, not that that matters. Would this be a good fit for what I need it for? Is this canoe too large for solo paddling? I’m pretty light, about 5’11" and 145 lbs. ; how far would I realistically be able to portage it? Is this known to be a decent model (stable, durable)? Overall, would this be a fine first canoe for me, or should I keep looking? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

1 Like

That boat is a monster . Can you go pick it up and try to caŕry it?

2 Likes

I weigh 10 pounds more than you and am fairly fit (I regularly load and carry 50 pound kayaks) but would not even attempt to portage an 85 canoe myself. That’s more than half your weight.

There are plenty of solo canoes that would be more manageable for what you want for just a little more money on the used market. My 13’ 8" fiberglass solo canoe only weighs 35 pounds and I can easily carry it over my head by grabbing the gunwales. I paid $900 for it used, but I often see used Old Town and Mad River short canoes in my area for half that. I had an Old Town Guide 146 for a while, though a tandem it could be paddled solo backwards from the bow seat – they often turn up for $400 to $500. An Old Town Discovery 119 (just under 12’) would be a good choice – there is one in my area for $500, for example and these are only around 45 pounds.