First Canoe

Hey guys! Wanted some advice. Have zero experience with a canoe, but I have been kayaking for a little while. I’ve decided to make the switch and get myself a canoe, mostly to fish out of. I’ll be taking it on large ponds and calm lakes. My budget is very low, but I do have a relatively inexpensive kayak to sell/trade. I’ve decided to go the trade route, as I’ll get a better value. I should add that I’ll be solo most of the time, but it would be great to take my wife or my kids along sometimes.
I’ve gotten a few potential trade offers and I was hoping to get some advice. Here are the canoes that I’ve been offered in trades…
Rogue River 14
Old Town Guide 147
Old Town Saranac 146

I’m thinking the Saranac is my best bet. It has a middle seat that I assume I can use when I’m solo. The Guide is a great canoe (says the reviews) but may not be good for solo paddling??

Any advice would be much appreciated. I am a total newbie here! Thanks in advance!!

The Saranac will probably work. It is very far from a high performance canoe and it is heavy, but if you can handle the weight and don’t plan to paddle long distances, it might suit your needs. It won’t be terribly easy to paddle solo because of its width, but if you are not to small and don’t plan to go far or fast, it would be manageable.

The Guide is probably the better canoe overall, being three layer, roto-molded polyethylene as opposed to single layer thermo-formed polyethlene making it more rigid. But it is just as heavy or heavier, and even wider. However, you could add a kneeling thwart to the Guide positioned just behind the bow seat and facing toward the stern, and paddle the canoe solo from it.

Great info, thanks!! I’m not sure how comfortable it will be to kneel, especially to kneel and fish but I’m open to try. What about installing or moving a seat? Is that feasible? Maybe move the rear seat in the Guide up a bit for solo paddling?