first kayak purchase - Cobra Navigator?

I am looking to purchase my first kayak. I plan to use it mostly on lakes, creeks and slow moving rivers, however I may take it in the ocean surf, too. I definitely plan to take along a dog, sometimes 2 (not in the surf) and so I have been given the recommendation to get a sit-on-top. I am looking at the Cobra Navigator and would like some feedback on this boat. Any pros and cons you can offer would be very helpful, or suggestions for other models.

I am a novice (have paddled a lot of canoes, though). If it matters, I am 5’6", 32" inseam and about 110 lbs. My dogs are 50 and 40 lbs.

I have a car top carrier but would like to keep the weight low, though I can roll it up from the hatch of my Subaru. Portaging is a concern.

I am really attracted to the Hobie kayaks, with the foot drive, the snap on wheels, and the ability to add a sail kit later, but the price is a huge turn off.

Thanks in advance!

I had …
the Cobra Escape and I did love it, but I find it pron to stress cracks. Both I got one and a friend who has the Explorer got one as well. We both repaired them and my repair lasted, but her’s came back again.

They do track very well and are comfortable, but can be tippy at first - then you get use to it. They don’t hold water out of your kayaks. We would find water in ours a lot. Wasn’t fond of the hatches after a while – too many latches.

Just wanted to give you a heads up.

I sold mine and upgraded to a Native Watercraft Manta Ray 12 and I love this kayak!

Oh …
… and two dogs … you are bold! Take a pic of that for all of us to see.

Cobra Navigator