First Kayak Purchase!! eek!

-- Last Updated: Apr-20-05 12:39 AM EST --

Well, ever since ocean kayaking on the coast of the Corcovado rain forest in Coasta Rico, I have appreciated the immediacy of Kayaking.

I have cannoed(sp?) on the rivers of kentucky, and rafted in wyoming, but all of it was very organized. I am a complete novice, and looking to explore kayaking.

So here is the deal. I am considering purchasing a two man kayak, but am leery of the length, and the tracking. It is my understanding that two man kayaks are cumbersome. Although I don't think I will be doing much whitewater kayaking, I would still want the option. Mainly I want tour kayak (lakes and slow rivers), and ocean/sea kayak all in one. Now, is it impossible to get everything I want in one kayak(a compromise of course, not a master of all trades)? Should I save even MORE money and purchase TWO kayaks? What are the top brands of Kayaks, and what are the best buys (econmic AND good quality)? And whats up with inflatable Kayaks? I would say my price limit is 2000, though I would really like to buy used, and for MUCH MUCH cheaper than that (like, under 600. I realize this is very cheap, and that kayaks run 5000-8000 pretty regularly)

Sorry for the longwindedness. Thanks for any help

I would go with 2 singles
and go used. Check the classifieds here and on Ebay and any local paddling club websites. You’ll be surprised what you can find.

I would also suggest 2 singles