First Kayak

Hello all. I’m new to Kayaking and have rented a few sit on tops. I mostly kayak flat water and gentle rivers. I’m wanting to take the plunge and buy my first yak but I’m on limited budget. I have been looking at the Old Town Otter. Anyone have any experience with this boat? I’d really like an Old Town Dirigo 120 but a new one is out of my price range and I haven’t been able to find a used one.

thanks for the advice.

welcome to paddling!
You’re gonna love it. It’s a great sport. Where are you and what kind of water are you going to be paddling on? On a small flat lake you’ll need one kind of boat, out on the sea or around livelier water, another. Check out the “guidelines” over in the left hand margin. There’s a lot of good information there. If you live in a metropolitan area where paddling is popular you can often find a good deal buying used on craigslist.

There are a lot of 12’ rec boats.
How about a used Pungo ,for instance.

i was "in your boat"
just six months ago. Same type of beginner, sticking to flat water and slow streams & rivers i could safely paddle alone. The type of boat you want to buy as others have indicated will depend on how you plan to use it. If you think you will be continuing to paddle lakes slow rivers and mostly “calm” water (no strong currents) then the several different types of “Otters” are avaialble from Old Town Canoe Co. I bought the Otter XT Super Sport. It is perfect for my use and i piced it up at Dick’s Sporting Goods (chain on the East Coast mainly) for $300. A steal, because the original price was $450. It is stable, not at all slow (and i weigh in at 210lbs) has important features like a padded ergonomic seat and storage hatches to keep extra gear dry.