First Kayak

I’m just getting into kayaking and absolutely loving it. I’ve currently looking into my first boat and have a question for the more experienced paddlers out there. In trying to reduce the initial expense of getting into kayaking I am considering plastic. It seems that it would be better to get a boat on the cheaper side and have some time to learn about what I like and dislike before purchasing a 3k boat. However, I can’t get over the thought that I could put that 1500 towards a well thought out glass boat. What are your thoughts? Any experience with massive regrets? I’d love to learn from yours… Lol… Thanks, David

go cheap
I’ve been kayaking for a little more than a year and now own 3 kayaks.

My first was a Christmas present from my son. It’s an Islander Swifty 9.5 from Dick’s Sports. It’s a great beginners kayak, and less than $300. You’ll get a lot of people telling you that it’s a piece of junk, but I enjoy it still. In fact, I took it out today because it was easier and quicker to throw in the back of my pickup instead of my #3 yak. I was watching the weather and just wanted to get out on the river quickly.

Yak 2 was a 12 foot sit on top that I got in a trade for an old canoe. I was hoping to get my wife interested. It’s easier to paddle then the Swifty.

I’ve taken my granddaughter with me on it, so that led to…

Yak #3. It’s a 14 foot Old Town Dirigo that has a jump seat for my granddaughter. Being longer and narrower, it’s by far the fastest and easiest of the 3 to paddle.

It’s the only one I’ve had to purchase and it was less than $800.

You can find lots of decent yaks on Craigslist for well less than $1000, probably even around $500.

So, I’d start out with a decent used one or two and work your way up to your dream yak.

first boat
First find a dealer that’ll let you test boats (demo boats), then you can refine what you’re looking for and features you like and dislike.