First "real"boat

-- Last Updated: Sep-21-14 12:03 PM EST --

I have decided to actually commit to the sport. I started this year and I love it. I am 6'2 220lbs and in good shape ( no I'm not looking for a date, just using that for sizing and stability purposes ;)I have been suggested these three boats. They are all similar and because I have very little experience I am hoping as a group I can get some insight for my purchase.

Intercostal NC - tidal, slow moving
Day/multiday/camping/racing?
No constraints just looking for a good balance
No experience in this class of boat

Wilderness systems focus 155
Hurricane tracer 165
Perception expression 15

A few questions…

– Last Updated: Sep-21-14 11:29 AM EST –

What is your intended use -- quiet lakes, ocean, rivers?
Camping? Fishing? Racing?
What are your goals?
Do you have any constraints? Weight? Cost? Storage space?
What kayaks have you paddled that you liked or didn't like?

Your size does put you in the "larger paddler" category, but there are plenty of choices in that range.

Great questions- answers
Great questions. I guess I should have addressed all those in the post! I’ll correct that.

Intercostal NC - tidal, slow moving

Day/multiday/camping/racing?

No constraints just a good balance

No experience in this class of boat

Any others outside those 3?

Cheers!

Thanks!

– Last Updated: Sep-21-14 2:05 PM EST –

I know it's hard to know what you want when you're starting out.

I'm 5'9, 150 lbs, so I can't really recommend specific boats for you, but I can offer some thoughts:

It's not unusual for novices to buy a boat based on dreams of multi-day expeditions, when in reality 98% of their paddling is lightly loaded day trips. True "expedition" boats that are designed to paddle with a load can be cranky when paddled empty. it's good to be realistic.