First real kayak

Hello, new user here. I stumbled across this website and found a lot of useful information and joined.

I have been paddling for about 2 years now (box store SOT) and am looking to upgrade to a real kayak and improve paddling skills.

I mainly paddle rivers and creeks (class 2 at max) and overnight camping trips. I am about 6’2” roughly 205Lbs 34”waist.

I’m interested in boats with at least bow and stern hatches in the 12-15 ft range. So far from what I have looked/read the Sitka lt/xt and vision 140 seem to fit this category pretty well. When I search in the classifieds on this site and craigslist, some older or discontinued boats show up. I’m not against older boats, I Just don’t know anything about them.

What are the boats that do well in this category? Any suggestions or advice is greatly appreciated.

There are tons of reviews on this site that can be helpful in getting some information from owners on the handling and capabilities of various models going back as far as 30 years. And a lot of the reviewers will state their own height and weight which can be very helpful.

There are scores of kayaks that would fit your requirements but your budget and the availability will be major aspects of getting one this year.

1 Like

At your size, I would suggest a longer boat…16 to 18’. You won’t regret it.

1 Like

Thanks for the comments. I’ll dive into more reviews.

Andy- does the jump to the longer boat really make that much of a difference in more than just speed?

I use a canoe in water like that you plan to paddle (I mainly paddle rivers and creeks (class 2 at max) and overnight camping trips). However, based on what I see folks paddling on some of our club trips you might want to look at a Tsunami 145. Not my taste but they do seem to do the job.

You are a big guy, a 14 foot boat would feel like a barge. Just realized, that you do some WW. Look for a plastic boat then or a canoe.