First Scratch Fears

Two confessions: First, I tend to be a bit anal and try to take excellent care of my stuff. Secondly, I am new to paddling and just bought my first kayak.

I bought it new and it is all shiny and pretty. :slight_smile: It is a plastic boat, and truthfully not overly expensive, but I still want to take care of it and not abuse it.

How does one walk the fine line between using a kayak reasonably and getting a few rock scratches, yet not abusing it?

So far I have only had this kayak on a river but there are some creeks nearby that I would like to explore but with water levels lower, that will entail some serious scratches when going over shallow or exposed rocks?

Am I the only one with this “weirdism”?

Should have bought two
That way you could use one and look at the other one. It’s only a piece of recreational equipment, not a family heirloom !

I suppose
I could put in some witty or sarcastic remark here. I’m sure the quota will be filled shortly. And exceeded.

OP, one thing you can do is learn how to get in and get out of your kayak in 1 foot or more of water (depends how deep the boat sinks with you in it). Not only does this spare the bottom from the inevitable scratches from shoreline launches, but it also teaches you a valuable reboarding skill (it’s the finishing part of the cowboy scramble) and improves your balance and agility.

It’s fun. Try it.

Scratches are …
badges of honor. Show them proudly.

use vs. abuse
If you’re playing in rivers and creeks with rocks, you’re going to get scratches. That’s normal. You can minimize them be learning to read the water and developing the skill to place the boat where you want it. But if you’re exploring and learning – and having fun – you’re going to make a few errors and find a few rocks.

You can minimize scratches by launching and landing from the water, by walking shallows instead of grinding along, by not dragging the boat on land, and by using care during transport.

lol