First surfski race--need advice!

Hello!
I am a beginner surfskiier (Carbonology Cruze) who is beginning to train for my first race on March 8. There are two distances available—10K and 5K. Any advice of which distance I should choose?
Any other race/training advice is appreciated as well :smile:
Thank you!

I’d say the 10K it’s really only 6mi and you will get a better idea of how to pace yourself and the boats will be more spaced out at the end.
The 5K will be almost a sprint.

That’s what I was wondering about…the 5k being a sprint…and with the Cruze being a beginner ski it’s definitely on the slower side…

When I first started racing anything my goal was just not finishing last…:sunglasses:

I think some will depend on the distance paddling you have been doing/will be doing between now and the race. Are you doing at least 5 mile paddles at decent effort levels? If no, then you may want to do the shorter one.

Thag actually sounds like the PERFECT first goal!!

I agree. I regularly do four miles and was planning on doing my first long paddle today. However, the weather didn’t cooperate.

The best way to be ready for any race is to train for a distance longer than the races you wish to compete in. Practice, practice, practice.

That is for the serious races. I raced a bunch of races tied to festivals and such. The people that do them are not prepared for trued racers.

I did a race in Safety Harbor and, out of fifty participants, I was the only one to sign up for the 10k.

A win is a win is a win…:sunglasses:

2 Likes

Craig…are you local to Tampa Bay?! I live in the Dunedin/Clearwater area.

@grayhawk and @CraigF…any advice on how to pace yourself? I’ve done a half marathon before where I started out at a conservative pace and then pushed harder the second half. Do you people use this same strategy in a ski race?

Pretty sure I want to do a 10k at this point…my ski isn’t cut out for a sprint.