First Symposium Advice

If all goes well, I’ll be attending my first multi-day paddling symposium. I’ve never done this before, but I know many here have. What advice would you share with a first timer that might not be plainly apparent?

A couple of categories come to mind:

1. Are there gear concerns for a multi-day course that might be different from a 1-day session? For example, bring two sets of paddling clothes so you’re not putting yesterday’s wet stuff on again.

2. Etiquette:do you tip the individual instructors, buy them a beer, etc?

3. How is being a learner at a big symposium different than a 1:1 session?

Thanks in advance.

It will be fun! I participated in three symposia. Coming from a region of very few sea kayakers, seeing how many other paddlers existed was a real eye-opener.

Answers, based on my experiences:

1. YES, bring extra sets of paddling clothes. With a drysuit, this only means extra sets of long undies—more for cleanliness than dampness, and with wool even that can be less important. But those don’t take much extra packing space anyway. Extra wetsuits, OTOH, are bulky AND important because the stuff doesn’t dry overnight unless in a very dry, warm, sunny area. And bring hangers for them!

2. Never heard of that being done and I did not do it myself at the three symposia I attended.

3. Totally different! Aside from the difference in ratio itself, which means YOU need to watch out if someone near you cannot maneuver his/her kayak adequately (i.e., avoid hitting others), the instructor’s time for what can be huge variations in student skill levels is restricted. It’s a class, not an individual coaching session. It will still be useful, but not in the same way that the latter is. One plus is that you get to observe other students’ paddling and maybe recognize similar problems or strengths in your own paddling.