First time canoe restoration!

This is my first time owning a canoe. I got a 16’ Fiberglass Canoe. It weighs 72lbs and is a “kanuck kanoe” brand (seems cheap, but floats!). As a personal project I’d like to fix it up and breath some new life into it.

The Canoe Deck Plates are made of a super heavy duty steel/metal. I’d like to lighten the canoe a bit and would like some advice. What’s the purpose of the canoe deck plate? Can I remove these super heavy steel plates and replace with a stainless grab handle / short thwart instead? (Currently theirs no bow/stern thwarts, just these heavy duty deck plates).

I like the kanuck kanoes logo. The decks just give the ends a finished look and provide carry handles so there’s nothing wrong with removing them and replacing them with some simple/lighter carry handles. Congrats on your first canoe!

1 Like

Welcome. If you want to maintain a grab handle, Old Town’s come with plastic deck plates that rivet on. You can buy them as repair parts and they might have a size that matches your canoe’s shape.

I’ve been solo’ing a 84lb old town for about a decade now, so I appreciate the drive to lighten it up

1 Like

They look like cast aluminum, steel would be much more rusty. They also look really ugly. The modifications you make are only limited by your skill and imagination.

Agree…besides steel and aluminum (gunnel) don’t like each other in corrosive environments. Try the magnet test. If attracted it’s ferris…steel.

Thanks folks! Yea either way look thick and heavy! (And ugly). I think I’ll try and replace with a small end plate made of plastic, then try and install a stainless bow and stern thwart to use as a grab handle instead.

Aluminum is strong and durable and lasted this long in tact. Unless you are going to replace the decks and gunwales with wood I would leave them as is. You can remove a lot of the tarnish and clean it up with acid like Alumabrite. You just spray it on, wait and wash it off with a hose.