first time canoe solo with canoe paddle

I give, whats the trick to solo canoeing with a canoe paddle? Im not at all experienced with soloing a canoe. Ive been paddling for a few years but not solo. I gave it my best shot at a “J” stroke and made some headway but it seemed like a huge amount of effort and forget paddling into the wind. I thought I understood the “j” stroke but I think I may be doing something wrong. Can someone explain this to me. Im kinda slow, maybe draw me a picture.

I execute a standard stroke, pulling towards me slightly then at the back end of the stroke, I give a flip either to the inside or outside, I tried both, before bringing the paddle out of the water. I can hold course this way but it seems like alot of effort for little return. Today there was a fairly strong wind. If I tried it into the wind, I would lose most all of my momentum at the end of each stroke and had to resort to just digging to make any ground.

Other than my inability to use the canoe paddle, I was very pleased with the performance of my little OT Pack. I did take my kayak paddle along and I switched off occasionally. I thought the Pack felt slightly tippy for about the first 10 minutes then I was over that. I also thought it excelarated well and tracked well when I used the kayak paddle. Overall Im very happy with the little boat so far, I just need to work on my paddling technique for this boat.

yak paddle