First time in my first canoe

-- Last Updated: Jun-19-10 9:15 PM EST --

Finally I got my first canoe, Penebscot 16 by Old Town. I like it a lot! Only problem I have is that after couple hours of trying my longest trip was one meter or two. Then - overboat and my wife and my dog laughing on me from the shore. They are smart and made me try first. After this I went to Cabelas and bought stabilizer - aluminum bar across the canoe with two floaters on the sides. Will try it tomorrow.

Question - am I hopeless old (50+ yo) person without any chance to paddle canoe normal way, without any "stabilizers" etc? Or it is like the bike - you have to learn it first?

– Last Updated: Jun-19-10 9:43 PM EST –

Are you sitting in the stern seat in the boat by yourself? If so that is your main problem. Most canoes are very tippy when used in that manner.

For solo you need to be a bit aft of the middle thwart.

Of course some will recommend that you turn the boat around and sit in the bow seat facing the back to paddle solo.

I was trying
I was trying to seet everywhere - front, back (sorry, stear, bow, sitting, kneeling) - same result. It was strong wind also, but I think I need more (and more :)) practise. I’m soooo jealous to see pictures of you guys paddling very relaxed way!

Wind
That doesn’t help when you are in it for the first time.

Don’t sit in the back (stern) when you’re alone in the boat. Otherwise, try to keep your weight centered in the boat whichever position you choose.

Make your wife sit in the other seat.

Make your wife sit in the other seat
Are you sure? Looks like it will be even more troubles…

your stabilizer floats are …

– Last Updated: Jun-19-10 11:05 PM EST –

...... an OK thing to do until you become more accustomed to the motions and movements of the canoe ... those floats can/will cause some drag in the water and create thier own problems to deal with .