First time kayaking advice?

hello everyone, i love this forum. i apologize if i post this in a wrong place or wrong format. my buddy gave me a perception method air kayak for free and i so wanted to get into this hobby. i was so excited to put it in the water today. however, i launched the boat and immediately got soaked. it is my first time in a kayak but not my first time paddling such as a canoe. but when i launched i could not keep myself upright and the slightest movement i mad the kayak wanted to roll over on either side. the sides were so low in the water that water came over the top of the opening. i read that this perception method air was recommended for 170 lbs. i am 220 lbs and 6 foot 3 inches tall. could being over weight cause these problems that i am experiencing or is it just my lack of experience? i want to break into this sport or hobby but i hate to spend the money on a bigger yak if it isnt my cup of tea. thats why i was so disappointed at my experience today. anyone have any thoughts?

I thought you were talking about ā€œair kayakā€ like an ā€œair guitarā€. Then I googled it.

It seems with your 6 ft 220 pounds youā€™ve found a white water play boat less than 8 ft long. Iā€™m your size a little shorter and heavier and I donā€™t do well in anything less than 14 ft. The review on Paddling.com seems to alude to it being a play boat which kinda leads me to think that your first time experience is about right. It would be a tippy boat.
Method Air Reviews - Perception | Buyers' Guide | Paddling.com

So, yes you are at the manufactures max weight in a whitewater playboat. Whitewater boats are mostly made to move with you so stability is based on you. Also, a spray skirt is almost a must but first you need to have practiced and be comfortable with exiting the kayak while upside down (wet exit) with out the skirt before then practicing wet exits with the skirt on. You was a fairly trusted person by your side in the water while you practice.