First time purchase used Grumman G-17

I am a long time lurker first time poster. I have enjoyed the wealth of knowledge and info I have gained from the site.

I am considering purchasing a used Grumman G-17. The boat has a few patches in it. I am going to float it prior purchase to see if it leaks. The asking price is $300. Is that a fair price for a patched canoe?

I have limited experience in paddling (probably 20 outings) and I would like to get back into it paddling.

I have now taken up fishing as a hobby and I know I would love to float/fish some rivers again.

Thanks for your responses.

fitngoblr

patches?
That seems high for an aluminum boat that’s patched.

Do you intend to fish from this boat? At the risk of being flamed, I’d encourage you to reconsider any aluminum boat for fishing. They are just too noisy. Try this experiment - have someone in an AL canoe drag his sandy shoe’d foot across the bottom while you are underwater. Increase your distance from the canoe. Do the same with a lure or sinker striking the hull Now keep in mind that the fish can sense the sound vibrations at least many thousands of times better than we can.

Look for a fiberglass canoe for fishing!

patches re;
Good advice. I have never paddled an aluminum boat.

Maybe some fiberglass canoes are
quiet, but mine aren’t. A Royalex boat is pretty quiet, and a wood-canvas canoe would be quiet also.

Lots of people fish successfully out of aluminum canoes. However, I think $300 might be toward the high side for a patched Grumman.

I once sold a Royalex Old Town Tripper to some fishermen for $350, but I’m an idiot.

You can get by with aluminum