Fishing from a kayak

Hi,

I’ve been fishing for over 30 years but I never tried it from a kayak.

Is there something special I should know ? I’ve always loved jigging for walleyes by drifting with the current in a river. Could this be tricky with a kayak ? What if my jig gets caught on the bottom ? By trying to get it loose, will I risk capsizing ? Do I have to position the kayak in a certain way when I drift in the current ?

Thank you

Riversmallies
Check out riversmallies.com. Of the 2500+ river fishermen that post on the site, several hundred are kayakers. Several articles have been written by members about yak fishing. Once you get familiar with the site you can research them. Also, you won’t find a more helpful group of folks anywhere.

After river fishing from rafts and canoes for years, I started fishing from a rec yak about 4 years ago. Unless you are using unusually heavy line, the 6#-10# line normally used for eyes and smallies will not be a problem. What may become a problem is the addiction you might develop and the garage full of yaks you might end up with.

Snags
When I get a snag, I paddle upwind/upstream from where thelure is before making any more attempts to retrive it. Retriving from the opposite direction usually works well.

If you’re drifting slowly, just face whichever way you want to cast.

It’s easy to add rod holders to a kayak for trolling, or you can buy kayaks with rod hplders already installed.

depends on the kayak