FISHING KAYAK

As a novice I have been looking at three models of kayak for ocean fishing. An Ocean Scupper Pro, a Wilderness System Tarpon 14, and a Perception Bimini. Can anyone furnish some useful guidance on this and the type of paddle to purchase?

I have
the tarpon 140 and its great for fishing. Lots of room for gear and very stable. It does let some water in by your feet though, as it has a flat cockpit. The seat stays dry and mine has no rudder and still tracks and turns well. Never paddled the other models but would recommend the tarpon 140 for fishing.

YES INDEED!
Go over to the FISHING board here at p.net. ANd do a search. You’ll get a TON of info on what boats are good, paddles to consider, thoughts and examples -including pix -on how to rig your boat and rigging for different kinds of fishing.

All SORTS of good info…

Just go to the fishing section with fishing inquiries -you’ll see my thoughts, as well as perhaps hundreds of others. And you’ll see a slew of kayak fishing specialty sites to check out for SUPER detailed info on same.

It’ll be quite helpful to you in getting set up, and make it great for you, after you’ve gotten rigged, to yakfish as you

Paddle On!

-Frank in Miami

you will not go wrong w/those 3
those 3 kayaks are all top SOT’s for fishing. my humble best advice is to demo all three (and more if you get the chance). alot depends on your size & how you think you might really use the SOT. like Frank, i paddle a scupperpro t/w, but i am only about 5’9", if you are 6’5" with a big butt you will not fit in a scupperpro. but any of the Tarpons would be a good fit. anymore I feel that almost any kayak will do the job as a fishing yak if you plan on using it only as a “flats caddy” & to reach those areas 3-5 miles away from where you might already be wade fishing.