fishing rod holders

I just picked up a used victory class 12 from a good buddy of mine. what im looking for is a fishing rod holder that swivels, that i can put on and take off if i choose to, any know where i can get one? thanks

scott

The best are probably the Scotty’s and
Ram’s. Some use Berkely, but I’ve no experience with them. Tite-lok and Driftmaster are two metal rod holders that are popular among some. A whole herd of flyfishermen swear by them on texaskayakfisherman.com, but I have one and don’t care for it, much prefer my Scotty rod holders.

I use the compact Berkley’s
on both of my Loons. The Scottys (to my way of thinking) are bulky, require more wrist motion to use (difficult with crapel tunnel or arthritus[both of which I have a touch of]) and if not mounted or positioned properly, can interfer with your paddle stroke. The Berkleys can too, but they are lower profile than the Scottys and don’t have so many limited mounting options. The only thing with the Berkelys you need to be aware of is that you need to use/install a back up retention system, like small bungee cords or such to secure rods in the holders. Since removing a rod out of the Berkley is a straight pickup/slide out motion, they WILL, quite on their own, exit the holder in water bigger than a class 1 (I fish mostly rivers). The Scottys DO have their own retention system as part of the design, so they do have ‘that’ going for them…which is nice. Finally is price: Scottys retail for about 25.00 each…Berkelys go for 13.00 each

My .02 worth

I think all that depends on which Scotty