Fitting a rudder on kayak with no rudder option.

Hello everybody! I recently bought a BIC Scapa and tried to steer it in sea waves. It was very hard, because the wind kept turning it around in whichever direction it wanted to. I am a novice kayaker and I read that a rudder helps keep the kayak straight in windy conditions. Unfortunately this kayak does not have a rudder option.
My questions to you:

1. Will a rudder make a difference?
  2. Should I drill holes to fit a rudder or could I damage the kayak?
  3. How do you handle long kayaks without a rudder on windy conditions?
    Thank you so much.

A rudder would make a difference, but not as much as learning some new skills would.
The biggest problem I can think of with trying to add a rudder to the Scapa would be running the rudder lines. It would require a lot of work. Even then it will probably be a messy job to get done.

I think the best thing to do, for yourself and for the long run, would be to take a few lessons and learn boat control techniques. Proper sweep strokes and braces should give you the ability to control the Scapa quite easily. At 14.5ft, it’s not really a long kayak, so you should be able to turn if into and out of the wind easily enough with the proper techniques.

If lessons are out of the question for whatever reason, wait for a nice calm day and practice paddling in figure eights and around imaginary courses. Watch some videos on YouTube to learn from, but be sure to practice what you learn first in a comfortable setting. The more you practice, the easier it will get to control your kayak.

Hello Esstyle, thank you, this is very honest. I live in Greece and I have trouble finding advanced kayaking lessons so at the moment I rely on youtube and the community :slight_smile:

To your question #3:
In sea kayaks which are usually longer, we use a number of techniques: