Fitting in a Chatham 17

I’ve been oogling the Chatham kayaks for a while. But, I’ve got some reservations about it. My current boat is a a Dirigo 14 (27.5" wide) and I’m 5’ 11", by a porky 250 lbs. I’m a fair novice at paddling touring/skinny boats.

Anyway, I test paddled the Chatham 17 yesterday. Sitting in the boat with it’s standard outfitting, I was snug and felt really good. Out on the water, the river was a little rough from some wind and a lot of boat wakes. I felt twitchy and not all that comfortable. Because of my twitchiness, after a few minutes of paddling, I went over and wet exited.

My question isn’t one that you can answer, but maybe help me figure out… was it the boat that was twitchy? Am I to big of a person for this boat (i.e. I’m about as wide in my bum as the boat is)?

My assumptions - I’ve only really paddled in flat water (and once in the ocean, where we had swells to contend with). I’ve never dealt with boat wakes and the choppy waves. So, this was new.

I was twitchy because I was in a boat that’s unlike anything that I’ve been in before (I’ve paddled a Tsunami 165 a couple of times, regularly paddle a Perception Carolina and my Dirigo).

Anyway… thoughts? opinions? witty commentary?

If you’ve own or have paddled a Chatham, was size are you?

it may be the chatam 17 is
too small for you or it may also be your just not used to paddling in conditions in a sea touring boat. Your best idea is to borrow or rent the types of kayaks you are interested in to get a feel for what’s best to you—also might want to take some lessons–other boats to try would be a W/S Tempest 170 or 180, an NDK Exlorer(HV–or high volume)a Current Designs Sirroco–this list is by no means exhaustive–there are plenty of other boats out there for larger people.

Thanks for the info
I’ve got a couple of classes under my belt (they’re actually where I got into the W/S Tsunami) - I’m comfortable paddling and knew I needed to brace (I thought it, but the paddle just didn’t go).