Fixing an inside-out puncture in Royalex

I just bought a used Mad River Legend and only noticed after the fact that there is a small puncture. It looks like it happened from inside the boat, maybe as an accident while installing a seat or other gear. The puncture is above the water line and small enough that I can’t see through it, but the outer vinyl is cracked and has a sharp edge. The puncture also caused a 3-4 inch crack towards the keel.

I’m new to repairing canoes and am looking for advice on how best to fix this. Specifically, should I sand down the sharp edges and protruding outer layer(s) before using resin etc. to fill the hole?

Here’s the view from the inside:

My guess is that this canoe was impacted or pinned against the side of the hull opposite the seat rail and the hull side got pushed in with the result that the end of the machine screw supporting the seat shown punctured the hull interior.

If the only damage was a small puncture it would be a straight forward process to fill it but in this case there is also likely a crack in at least the outer solid layer of ABS in the Royalex that affects the structural integrity of the hull. There could be a crack in the inner solid layer of ABS as well under the seemingly intact gray vinyl layer. Vinyl stretches much more than ABS and will often remain visibly intact over cracked ABS substrate.

In case you don’t know the hull is made of Royalex which is a five layer laminate. The red outer layer and gray inner layer are thin layers of vinyl. The ABS substrate is a three layer sandwich consisting of a solid inner and outer lamina and a “foam” core.