Flat Water Kayak Recommendations

Hi, all. I’m new to the sport, so I’d really appreciate some advice on the kayak options in my price range (under $1000). I’m a smallish guy (5’8" and 135 lbs) and will be paddling primarily on flat water (area lakes, slow rivers, etc.). I expect to take mostly day trips, but a boat that can handle enough gear for overnight camping would be a nice plus. I’ve identified several options that look like good contenders – Perception Carolina 12 or 14, Necky Manitou 13 or 14, Wilderness Systems Tsunami 120 or 140 – but I’m having a hard time narrowing the field. Ultimately, I hope to track down a dealer within driving range so that I can actually sit in a few boats, but I’d like to get a better sense of what I want/need before I take that step. Am I on the right track with the boats that I listed above?

Size

– Last Updated: Dec-26-11 12:52 PM EST –

Given your size, I'd focus on boats in the "small/smaller paddler" category. For example, in the Tsunamis, the 135 or even the SP would be a better choice for you than the 120 or 140. Consider the Tributes instead of the Carolinas. A boat that's too wide and too deep will be uncomfortable and inefficient to paddle. A boat that's too big is harder to control, especially when the wind picks up.

I'm 5'9', 160 and usually prefer "smaller paddler" boats.

Tsunami 135

– Last Updated: Dec-26-11 5:59 PM EST –

would probably fit you great -- my son is about the same height/weight as you and it's a very comfortable size. you can camp out of it if you pack real light (we've taken our on multiday trips).

the Tsunami 140 is a great camper, but probably more volume than you'd like; it'll ride high without enough weight.