float bag size- will it fit?

I am planning a short solo trip and I want to install some small float bags in the stems of my Bell Woodsman 3. I found some bags from NRS that I think will work, but they are wider and deeper than the area I will be installing them in. I am drilling holes in the hull for paracord and will have d-rings to attach webbing down the center to restrain the bags(typical rigging). I have no experience with float bags and I don’t know if being unable to fully inflate the bags will cause a problem.

NRS bag specs 29.5"L x 28.5"W x 18"D

canoe stem specs 30+"L x 21"W x 15"D

Of course the length won’t be a problem but what about the width and depth? I assume you can just fill the bags to the size needed, but please correct me if I’m wrong. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

Marlon

You are correct

– Last Updated: Jan-07-12 1:01 PM EST –

Just inflate the bags to fill the available space. I've never seen float bags being available in different widths and depths, only different lengths. I think an unrestrained, fully-inflated bag is always bigger than the space it actually occupies when secured in a boat.

On a related note, don't forget to deflate them quite a bit when you leave them unattended. If the sun shines on them or if it's a hot day, when the air inside heats up and expands, the bags will "try" to break what confines them.

don’t worry about it

– Last Updated: Jan-07-12 4:52 PM EST –

photo of the week
http://www.paddling.net/photography/

I'm using 5' center bags. Not uber smooth, but definitely works....over an over and over again ;-).

As long as you're somewhat close on dimensions, you'll be fine, and it's better to have extra bag than extra space in a given area.

Flotation

– Last Updated: Jan-07-12 6:06 PM EST –

Am in agreement with both previous posters.