Float Bags for Old Town Cayuga --do I need them?

How do I know if I need them? Just to recap… I’m a beginner and the kayak I’ve purchased is an Old Town Cayuga 110. It’s a 10’6" sit-in. I plan to use it primarily in the calm springs and slow-moving rivers of Florida. I might take it out into the wind-sheltered mangroves in the bay are some point. I want to be safe, of course, but not overly excessive. Thoughts? Thanks again, guys!

You’re asking a group that knows nothing about you a personal potential life or death question?

Wow. Hostile much? This is a kayaking community with paddlers whom I would assume are knowledgeable about paddling. I feel it’s an appropriate question. Do you have a better suggestion for getting advice on that particular question?

It is always advisable for any sit in kayak to have enough flotation such that you will be able to get back in the kayak, whether by self or assisted rescue, and continuing paddling. If the kayak does not have sealed bulkheads , float bags or some other means of floatation are required.

A flooded kayak will weigh hundreds of pounds and will be extremely difficult or impossible to swim or tow to shore. If the cockpit rim is not appreciable above the water line, again it will be very difficult or impossible to empty on the water.

Look into, learn, and practice, practice self and assisted rescues. You will likely need a pump and paddle float in addition to the floatation for the boat.

1 Like

Thank you for the helpful, constructive feedback. I am going to bring my kayak home this weekend. It does not have a sealed off bulkhead, just a foam pillar, so it definitely sounds like I’ll need float bags in the bow at the very least. The Stern does have a walled off dry hatch. I’m planning to take lessons, so I’m not completely clueless and can get myself out of a bad situation should one arise. Thank you!