Florida Paddling - Wildlife

I am a novice kayaker with little, but some experience kayaking and am super interested in buying my own and hitting the waterways every chance I get. I must admit, I am a little terrified of the wildlife in Florida; a mini Australia really, everything can kill ya!

For a reason, unknown to me, I am less frightened to paddle next to alligators, or the occasional shark, but a run in with an aggressive cottonmouth is driving my dreams into nightmares. I would hate to have one fall from a tree into my lap… I think I’d have a heart attack. I’m interested in hearing about any encounters and maybe some safety protocols. For some context, I’m not a fisherman and will not be fishing out of the kayak.

With having this thought in the back of my mind, my logic is leaning me towards a sit on kayak. Not only for better reentry to the kayak in the event of an overturn, but to be able to exit quickly, or move my legs and not have a creepy crawler get stuck in the dugout.

Ultimately, this fear isn’t going to stop me from paddling - if anything, I’ll keep to the sea and stay out of the swamps and springs to avoid encounters, but I really don’t want to - I want to explore all of Florida!

Let me hear your thoughts. Thanks!

I’m with you. When in Florida or anywhere in the South paddling, I am much more concerned about cottonmouths than gators or sharks. My rule of thumb is to not paddle under trees/limbs if at all possible. I save the really tree covered paddles for the few sub 50F days in winter so that any serpents are lethargic if not hiding in a hole.