flutter: paddle or paddler?

I used an Epic Active Touring paddle today. During one part of the paddle, there was a distinct flutter midway through the stroke. This was most apparent while paddling into the wind (with no feather). Is it the paddle of my technique or all of the above. I am new to paddling so my ignorance vastly exceeds my knowledge.

hard to say
i have an epic wayfarer, although i haven’t used it that much since i switched to a wing. going into the wind an unfeathered paddle will be pushed around more, so that certainly might have something to do with it. feathered gets pushed around in crosswinds- it’s a tradeoff. the epic has an excellent bite on the water, almost wing-like, but it requires fairly good and consistent technique. i would try working with the paddle and various paddle angles to find where it feels best. for me at least, a fairly high angle stroke with good torso rotation (wing-like) gives the best results with that paddle.

andrew

All of the above…
I’ve found the Epic touring paddles to be the least forgiving of any paddle I’ve used, a very narrow grove. I have and love the wing but can’t use the touring paddles.

I find the Werners to be very forgiving…

And check out ONNO… GH

I use a Epic Active Touring,
and I get a flutter when I am trying to get up to speed, such as at the beginning of a race or trying to paddle faster.

Once I am in a comfortable cadence I don’t get it.

My wife uses the same paddle only the twist-lock model, and she noticed the same.

I am still not sure weather it is us or the paddle.

Cheers,

JackL

I’m guessing it may be a little of both.