fly rod & spinning reel

When I was a young novice to fishing,(some 45 years ago), I watched an old fisherman using a fly rod with a small spinning reel. He was always catching fish.

Some 30 years ago I decided to try the same set-up and see if my success rate was any better. After some trial and error, I’ve got it right, and can consistantly catch fish this way. I’m using an 8 and a half foot rod with an ultra-light open face reel, spooled with 4 lb. mono. For live bait presentation or tiny lures it is super.

Has anyone else used this kind of set-up? It really works great.

paddle safe, LJB.

Micro lite
Bass Pro sells a series of rods called Micro Lite. They range from 4’6" to 9’6" and cost about $35. They are built for small spinning reels and light line. I used to fish with a noodle rod which was 11’6" but it was too hard on the fish. With the longer softer rods you can use lighter line as the rod takes most of the strain. Try to break off 4# test with a long rod and you will see what I mean. I have seen large salmon caught on noodle rods with 4# test but no catch and release as the fish is near dead when you get it in. It is a lot of fun though. I lost several good salmon while fishing from a kayak with lighter line because of snags. On the kayak now I use a 7’6" microlite with 6# for stripers. It is easier to break off from the kayak if you get snagged.Note: a 1/16 oz mini jig in approprate colors for your area with an inch of worm jigged along the bottom works great for catfish.

I also use the 7.6 Bass Pro Microlite…
IM 6 graphite model…for bluegill and catfish on one lake I fish. To much hydrilla for fishing with lures, so use mainly meal worms. My reel is a Shimano Sonora 750 with 6lb test line. The rod is about the same size in the but as a 5 wt flyrod, tip is similar size too. A long rod of light weight and size will wear down a pretty good size fish. It may just take longer because of the light line.

Did it as a kid