Foam blocks on a roof rack?

Hey there, first time posting, and it is a bit of a silly question about canoe transportation.

My partner and I have been paddling recreationally (in kayaks) for a few years now and in the last year have gotten much more into canoeing - getting a dog started us down the canoe road and we’re loving it!

We have an 18 Subaru Outback with roof racks and recently added 2x4 wide racks so we can double carry. Now my question is, does anybody use foam blocks in addition to their rack system? I personally think it’s not necessary and we argue about it every time he demands we put the foam blocks on.

I’d love to hear what other folks do! I know foam blocks are great if you don’t have a rack, but I don’t see anyone else putting foam between the boat and the rack.

Thanks for your input!

Not clear

What is holding the weight of the canoe, the rack or the blocks on the roof of the car?

Are the blocks resting on the car roof or the rack?

What purpose are blocks serving?

Foam blocks on the rack will cushion the boat and reduce vibration but add height to loading and unloading.

I have used blocks on roof to carry the weight of boat and tied the boat to the rack for secure travel!

I have sometimes used foam blocks between the gunwales of a canoe and my rack crossbars.

Oiled gunwales on wood gunwaled canoes are often stained by the vinyl covering rack crossbars. A foam block or piece of pipe insulation placed between the gunwales and rack protects the gunwales.

Another reason to use foam blocks is that some highly-rockered canoes will hit the cab of a truck rack or a rack mounted on a truck cap and a foam block is necessary as a spacer to prevent this.

The foam reduces marks and scuffs, reduces sliding, and adds some compression. I dont think its an issue of safe/unsafe.

Cam straps should enable secure tie down without foam. What are you using, rope, ratchet strap, cam strap, etc

1 Like