Food dehydrator recommenadtion

Hi everyone, I was reading threads from time to time, but need a piece of advice. please recommend me a decent food dehydrator. There was a topic 15 years ago as I see Food dehydrators) But there was no useful information. I need it for everyday use, so I guess it should be US-made with a warranty if possible. That’s the difficult part. everything I saw was from China. Please share your thoughts, and if you know a decent model let me know

Hi Red, welcome.

Many people will recommend the Excalibur, which seem to be very good units. I have been using the Nesco 1000 watt model for more than 20 years, and although I am on my second one, it has efficiently dried literally hundreds of pounds of food over that time. I instruct a guide training program and had for several years dried all food for up to 30 people for 4 days. For the Yukon 1000 mile canoe races, I am in a voyageur canoe of 6-7 paddlers. The rules for the first such race held in 2009 required 20kg (44 pounds) of food per person (not including water weight to make it edible, do the math) be carried on board from the start. I dehydrated all main meals (breakfast and dinner) for everyone in my Nesco. Thankfully that was such a ridiculous requirement that it was dropped for subsequent races.

Thanks! Yeah, I saw Excalibur on the list here https://wisepick.org/best-dehydrator-for-jerky/ They say it’s the best, I just wanted to be sure. And you are talking about this one, right? https://www.amazon.com/NESCO-FD-1018A-Gardenmaster-Dehydrator-White/dp/B00GN7O1PO. Well, will read reviews on Amazon, hope that will help, too

I will not contest that the excalibur may be the best, But I have had excellent results with my 1000 watt Nesco for many years, that’s all I am saying. And the Nesco is considerably less expensive. Do not settle for any other you may find at Walmrart, etc. Be certain that it has a thermostat and fan. Some cheapo brands do not and will perform terribly.