food storage while kayak camping

We will be kayak camping in the Everglades the first week of March. This is my first time with this combination and I am not sure how to store food at night. We have a bear container that we use for backpacking and I am thinking this would be ideal but it’s not ideal while kayaking. Could anyone tell us what they’ve done in the past and how successful it was? Any advise would be appreciated!

In the hatch
is where I store food in ENP backcountry. So far the 'coons haven’t tried to chew thru the hatch cover. I pull the boats up right in front of the tent door. It’s annoying how the coons lick the boat for the dew every night. They are very, very bold. Don’t leave food or drink in your tent. Have a great time, and be sure your tent mesh is fine enough to keep out the no-see-ums.

Hang it up
I don’t know if there are bears where you’re going, but in bear country the recommended way to store food is to put it inside a dry bag hanging from a rope from a high pole spanning two trees. The distance between trees must be great enough that a bear that has climbed to the pole cannot reach the rope holding the dry bag. You throw the bag over the pole…practice this at home first, because it’s surprisingly hard to do accurately.

no ‘trees’ in Everglades park
Mostly mangroves and those are not good for hanging packs. Besides the raccoons are very adept at climbing, way better than bears and lighter so they can get all the way down the limb.

Some of my employees went on a trip there a few years ago. They brought a canoe but told me about the pesky raccoons trying to get into everything.

They ended up taking their Frisbie and putting a bit of fresh water in it (they had brought plenty) each night and the critters left their other stuff alone! :slight_smile:

I would worry about them chewing on my kayak cover, but if you have a hard plastic cover that locks in it would probably work.

The guys put their stuff in Rubbermaid containers.

what I do