Foot brace/bar in canoe, yes or no?

I have some experience paddling canoes, but not a lot. I usually sit (sometimes kneel) while paddling a single blade. I have never used foot braces in a canoe. I have only used foot braces in kayaks.

I want to get a solo canoe, something like a Swift Prospector 14 or similar, mainly for fishing on lakes. This is not for tripping or high performance. And I’m not interested in a pack boat style seat. I have never been comfortable sitting a few inches off the floor.

My question is whether or not to get foot braces (or a bar). Aren’t they mostly for kayaks or pack boats with a low seat? How useful are they if you’re sitting at the higher level of a canoe seat? Is this option worth the extra cost and weight?

Foot braces are very useful for the ‘sit and switch’ style of paddling. Similar to those in a kayak they help lock you into the boat and transfer force to the hull to drive it forward. Based on your use case (fishing) I’d say that you are unlikely to make use of them.

I don’t use foot braces myself as I’ve been a kneeler for most of my life, but I have friewnds who swear by them. They are mostly ‘sit & switchers’ as has been mentioned -or racers or folks who have come to solo canoeing from kayaking. But one trick I’ve seen employed, and which might be useful to someone who, like the OP, is considering installing them but is as yet undecided, is to rig a temporary foot brace set up just for extended trial purposes.
It can be done by making a ‘trapeze’ rig using some 1" or so dowel drilled at both ends with a rope & stopper knot. The ropes are then tied to outer ends of the center thwart and adjusted to suit the particular paddler. I’ve seen this technique used by paddlers who are ordinarily into fishing or camping but who might want to enter a race but not permanently set their boat up for short stroke paddling.