Foot Pain While SUPing

I have been SUPing since 2012, but in the past 5 years have had to significantly cut down on my time on the board because within 5-10 minutes I’ll get really intense foot pain.

If I stretch my calves and feet beforehand, I can maybe get 20 minutes of paddling, but this pain is really hindering my ability to paddle and enjoy it.

Has anyone else experienced this and/or have any tips on strengthening your feet to paddle for longer bouts?

I am not a SUP’er but can offer a few things. Does your present shoe and deck pad combination offer confident and non-slip grip? Just wondering if you are “gripping” the board too tight witth your toes to maintain balence? Has anything else changed with paddle, board, your vision or sense of balence?

I’m willing to take any suggestions, so happy for the reply!

I have a few different SUPs (two inflatables and one rigid) and have this problem with each of them, they all have perfect fine deck pads, easy to grip, and feel stable on. Previously, people have suggested doing yoga, but I have the same issue with yoga, so I don’t think it’s SUP specific for me. just hopeful others have foot strengthening exercises or something!

Do you wear shoes while on the SUP? Since most of us wear shoes the majority of the time we are walking on land, your feet might not like being without the support they are used to. I know I’d last about 5 minutes without shoes. Supportive water shoes like Chacos or something similar might help.

I agree with Brodie on the need for footwear. Pretty simple to test. I am 63 and suffer from neuropathy in both feet attributed to low B12 levels now resolved. I have pain in both feet, especially in bare feet and with occasional night-time cramps. My poditrist says poor hydration is main cause for cramps and I agree. So, drink lots and get your B vit levels checked.