FOOT PUSH-OFF ???

Background first: self taught (read- bad habits) multi- dimensional novice.

After reading articles by Barton and Brent Reitz I am stymied by the practice of using the foot pegs for pushing off.

OK- I am talking about when the rudder is deployed. I have a touring CD Storm. When I paddle my touring SOT with fixed foot pegs, I CAN see what the benefit is to pushing off, as per the experts. Lots of rotation! My surf Strike has foot straps that really allows for good torso rotation.

On the Storm, I seem to push hard on the thigh pads. How does one drive with the legs when using a rudder?

Thanks in advance for all who offer up advice!

Z

Not that much pressure on feet
When paddling with rudder down, you can put more pressure on the stroke side foot without letting pressure off the offside foot. The pressure you put on your feet is not that great. Your butt should be relatively still in the seat, you rotate at the waist, just above the pelvis, and put slightly more pressure on the stroke side foot. It takes a bit of practice and finesse.

Or you can get the sissy smart track system :wink:

If you want to try SmartTrack
I have a brand new set of their footbraces with aluminum rails with the toe pilots and wires that you connect to your existing rudder. I’ll never use them, so email me and you can have them for half the new price. The system works OK if you have to use a rudder.

I had Smart Track on my Squall
It really handled the issue, providing a fixed point. And being able to easily reset the lengths while on the water makes a big diff in comfort in a long paddle. The only problem I found with the Smart Track system, at least the year of it that I had, was that I’d occassionally blow a footpeg out of its spot on the rail when rolling. But it never happened early enough that I lost what would have been a good roll, and the comfort I got the rest of the time was worth the minor inconvenience.