? for Rolling experts

I own an Eddyline Nighthawk 16. I am fairly new to Kayaking (about 2 years officially), and do not own many videos or attend classes (yet). I am very active and an former high level acrobat so I pick up things fairly quickly. I taught myself a C to C roll, Sweep Roll, and Extended sweep roll (with the help of the Kayak Roll DVD and Derek Hutchinsons book).

My question is aside from the no hands roll are their many other options for rolls in my current boat? I do know of other rolls that seem very cool,but are they strictly for an Greenland style boat? I toyed around with an backdeck roll but the deep cockpit doesn’t really allow me to layback. Any input would be helpful.

Lots of options
I know someone who does lots of different rolls in a Falcon 18. You just have to adjust your technique a little to accomodate the boat.

You can do throwing stick rolls, reverse sweeps (Greenland style & Steyr), and just about all of the forward recovery rolls. And if you’re good & flexible (And I assume you are from your background), hand rolls are not out of the question.

Experiment & don’t be afraid to fail. I’d recommend watching “Rolling with Maliqiaq” as well.

And if you really want to get into the more exotic rolls, pick up a used old-school WW kayak, like an RPM, Crossfire, or a Pirouette S or Super Sport. You can get them for about $150 - $200. Just make sure you can lay on the rear deck & bang your head on it.

And most of all…HAVE FUN DOING IT!!!

Wayne

Thanks Wayne
Thanks Wayne, I will certainly look for the dvd you mentioned. I love to mess around when the water and air temps are nice (unfortunately I live in New England). I just kinda wanted to know what was possible.

What Wayne said
I’ll second Wayne’s advise and add: