formal lessons

I am wondering how essential formal lessons really are for my kind of paddling. I do not do long open sea crossings. I go out for 3 to 4 hours, day tripping , I guess they call it.

I may paddle up to 10 miles from the put in and always in relatively good conditions (under 20 MPH winds).

I have read extensively about paddling techniques, how to read the water and other related matters. I also read the forums and talk to other paddlers. It seems to me that one can be self taught to an acceptable level of proficiency for my kind of paddle trips.

Forward strokes, sweep strokes, lean turns. when to use the rudder, how to deal with the wind,…all these things come to you eventually if you do it enough. Not to denigrate the value of formal lessons, but I think kayaking has an intuitive nature to it for many people.

Join a club
… that is, if you have the opportunity. So you have someone to pratice with.

Self teaching has its limitations, namely, learning and re-enforcing bad habits. Unless you video tape yourself paddling, you may think you’re doing what the book said, in reality you maybe doing a very poor approximation of it.

A paddling buddy could at least tell you that you look pretty good compare to the video tape, or you look nothing like it!

I’m not an aggresive paddler. I don’t go out in a storm, nor do I race. Still I found going paddling with more experience paddlers helpful. I’m able to pick up bits and peices on both paddling techniques and good vs. bad judgement. A lession is one of the more “formal” (if more expensive) way to do the same, typically in a condenced format so you actually pick up a lot more in a much shorter time frame.

Pool Skool
I went to classes over the winter to learn to roll the boat. I don’t know if I’ll ever need to roll, but it was a lot of fun and if nothing else a great confidence builder.

If you choose not to take classes, I would recommend taking the time to practice self/assisted rescues out on the lake.