Freestyle canoe paddles - wood

I’m looking for a wood paddle to use for Freestyle canoeing. I’m currently using a beavertail paddle to practice my FS maneuvers, but it’s time for me to get a dedicated Freestyle paddle – a paddle that is designed specifically for this purpose. I’m new to Freestyle, so I don’t I know enough about my specific needs yet to invest in having a custom FS paddle made for me - for this first FS paddle I’d like to buy something “off the rack”.

I have a definite preference for wood paddles; composite paddles do not interest me. A carbon blade with a wood shaft and grip might be acceptable, but plastic/carbon shafts and grips are not. Also being tall I have large hands. I tend to prefer shafts and grips that have a “full” feel. Living in the back-country (well away from large cities) I’ll probably need to order this paddle “sight unseen” from an on-line source.

I’m compiling a list of FS paddles to choose from. I’d also like to ask for any input on any of these particular paddles from those with first hand experience using them. So far I’ve located these FS canoe paddles:

Mitchell Surreal

http://www.mitchellpaddles.com/paddles/ct/surreal.html#

Sawyer Cedar Freestyle

http://www.paddlesandoars.com/frame_paddles.html

Cricket Designs’ Honey Island series

http://www.cricketdesigns.com/honeyisland.htm

Grey Owl Freestyle

http://www.greyowlpaddles.com/PGS/RECREATIONAL.html

Can the Freestyle canoeists on this board assist me with this quest?

Many thanks! Randall

pretty much covered
most of the standard manufacturers. I have been using a Grey Owl as it is quite a bit of paddle for the money. I have heard from a couple people that their paddle fell apart, but I only use mine for deep water stuff and am rather gentle with it-no problems. The grip works great for me.