From point 65 Mercury to Delta 14 or Eddyline Sitka LT

Hi all

In this difficult time, it is hard to get kayak demo. I would appreciate your opinion about the stability of following kayak. (Both primary and secondary)

Currently I own point 65 Mercury and feel very comfortable about the stability. I did try p&h delphin 155 before and feel very tippy and unsecured. I am thinking between Delta 12.10, Delta 14 or Eddyline Sitka. I figure I should feel comfortable for 12.10. But wondering if I can push to Delta 14 or Sitka for speed. I am Looking for comparison as most of review I can find state all these kayaks are very stable. Even Dolphin is stable which does not match my personal experience. I would appreciate comments from anyone has experience on two or more of above kayak so I can use your experience to extrapolate my potential feeling.

Thanks

What speed are you looking for? I have an Eddyline Samba, now called the Sitka by the new owners. If you have a good engine, won’t be difficult to cruise at 4.5 to 5+ mph.

I find both primary and secondary stability quite good. I have two longer and narrower kayaks, so consider the Samba a play boat to relax in because it is shorter and fun to play with various strokes and turns.

It does have hard chines, so is easy to edge. First thing I did when I bought mine was to crawl around the boat to check its balance points, sitting on the stern to paddle while moving my feet in and out of the cockpit. Never got wet.

Like all Eddyline kayaks, cockpit outfitting is very nice. I did remove the pillar supporting the back band as it was literally a PITA.

2 Likes