Garcia bear-proof canister?

Has anyone used these before? Are they practical for canoe/kayak camping? Do they insulate better than drybags [for example, keep the cheese from melting]?

I’ve been hanging dry bags or stuff sacks in trees for years now and am getting sick of it. There is often no good branch to use. I camp in the Adirondacks mostly and I hear about bears that have become adept at defeating these defenses [by biting through the rope-instant dinner!]

Thanks!

Bear-proof only!
I have one of the Garcia cannisters, although I have no personal experience with how bear-proof they really are. I can tell you that Denali National Park rents them to hikers and that research indicates they work. You don’t need to hang them since a bear supposedly cannot bite through them, but they do not address all of your issues: They are not waterproof, so they are not substitutes for dry bags, and they won’t keep your cheese from melting. Since they are black, they may actually be hotter, especially if left in the sun. One cannister holds approx. enough food for one person for three or four days, depending on what you take along. On longer trips, I take one as insurance so even if a bear gets the rest of my food I still have a three or four day supply. Also makes a good camp stool.

Mark

We have two of them
I highly recommend them to any one doing remote camping in bear country.

They have no insulation quality.

They make a great little seat, and they do what they are supposed to do.

They are just large enough so a bear cannot get its jaws around them, and there are no edges for the bear to bite on, so the most they can do is bat them around a bit, until they give up and go away.

We also use ours on our wilderness Florida trips, since they are an excellent deterrent to the raccons when your are off hiking along the beach.

I just noticed last week that one of the outfittes had a good sale on them. They are normally around $80, and I think they were about $20 cheaper.