Gelcoat: matching quill???

I am new to working with gelcoat. I had some gelcoat cracks / chips in my Romany S that I repaired yesterday.

The boat is used and was kept outside by the previous owners. I thought it was white…but apparently not.

After sanding out the repair it is apparent that the boat is not exactly white, as the repaired spots are quite a bit lighter in color.

So apparently this boat must have been quill over quill unless NDK uses some sort of off-white gelcoat which I doubt.

I guess that perhaps it just faded from being left out in the sun and now appears to be white (I am somewhat amazed by this b/c it really really looks white).

So…what’s the best way to match quill?

I have not done any color matching yet with gelcoat. I remember someone once telling me that quill was a hard color to match.

I think he said that he added a little bit of yellow coloring to white gelcoat to match it. I would have thought a little bit of black.

Thoughts?

thanks

Matt

Probably both yellow and black
Quill is not exactly pure gray, either. It looks to me like it’s slightly yellow or green. I would want to have black, yellow and blue tints handy. To complicate matters further, gelcoat sometimes changes color slightly as it cures. I suggest that you mix the color, then take a test sample, catalyze it, apply it to the boat and let it cure. Once you see the cured color, you can make adjustments if necessary and repeat the test until you’re satisfied with the results.

Or do what I do
I just mix up some plain old white, use it, and call it a “beauty mark”. I gave up on trying to match anyone’s white/off-white years ago.

faded
Since it has faded, it really isn’t Quill anymore, so genuine NDK or Valley gel could be as off as white. It’s already a very light grey when new so it probably isn’t far from white at this point.