general calm river water info

Can anyone provide me with references on info relating to river water characteristics such as how flow is effected by depth and width of the river, bends in the riverbanks, etc. and/or does anyone know of a good book on paddling technique specifically for calm rivers? I paddle mainly calm (but sometimes swift moving) rivers with a higher-end recreational/light touring kayak, and would like to learn more about the characteristics of the water I paddle (beyond the observations I make from actually paddling - I have already figured out that paddling upstream is somewhat more difficult than downstream). Thank!

A good book describing …

– Last Updated: Jun-02-05 12:39 PM EST –

river hydrology is "The essential Whitewater kayker" by Jeff Bennett. William Nealys "Kayak" is also a good book. My opinion (and I am no expert) is that the characteristics are the same only on a smaller scale. :)

@@@ Oh and just a warning, you will probably get jumped on about this because you have rated yourself an intermediate in your profile and should probably know this stuff already. :)

intermediate?
Thanks for the reply and the info. And yes, I wondered about calling myself intermediate - I settled on that because I’ve been kayaking for a number of years, but on the other hand I just recently decided to get serious and learn what I’m doing (or what I am supposed to be doing).

Moving water
Swift water and whitewater aren’t that much diferent except the intensity.

Heathers suggestions are good as would be any decent text on whitewater.

You might try looking for a swiftwater or moving water class or failing that take a beginers whitewater class.

Paddle hard!

Tommy

Understood :slight_smile:
I understand. If I were to go out onto a large body of open water I would be an absolute novice. I have no desire to though. :slight_smile:

In addition to the book stuff…