General Paddle Length?

-- Last Updated: Jan-21-16 12:19 PM EST --

My apologies if this has been asked previously, but I'm new to kayaking and trying to get all the necessary equipment.

I'm looking to get two general paddles that can be used by anyone as who I'm kayaking with will probably often change.

I've been reading different sites and I think 230cm, low angle is good for people of average size just recreationaly paddling in easy water areas. Is this correct? Other suggestions?

Also, Aluminum, Fiberglass? Is someone of my very minimal expertise going to notice a difference? If so, what?

If it helps/matters it will be used with the Advanced Elements AE1007-R AdvancedFrame Convertible Inflatable Kayak Length: 15'.Width: 32" Weight: 56 lbs

Any help you can provide would be great! Thanks!

Paddles
For a 35” wide boat, 230 is probably just about right. For materials, I’d stay away from a cheap aluminum paddle, and go for wooden ones, or maybe fiberglass. You said others may be using it, so damage could happen with glass easier than wood.

There are also decent paddles out there with fiberglass shafts and poly blades. Look at those as well. With any of them, go as light on weight as possible, and don’t be afraid to spend a little extra on a paddle if it feels good.

But the very most important thing is: DO YOU LIKE IT? If it feels good to you, then it’s a good paddle. Try more than one. In your situation, I’d lean toward wood, or Glass/Poly.

I agree on the materials. I have had 2
Al paddles. Couldn’t wait to get rid od them. Gave them away.

Paddle length
230 is awefully long these days. I think it is a size mostly used by anglers. I think you would be happier with a 215 paddle for all around work. White water paddlers like them shorter than 202. Surf paddlers most often use 205 or shorter. Racers most often buy an adjustable paddle from 205 to 215. Very strong races sometimes use a paddle longer than that.